Winners of Indian Super League franchise announced

Winners of Indian Super League franchise bidding have been announced. Bids were invited from all the interested parties for acquiring a city based soccer club for the upcoming Indian Super League (ISL) which is scheduled to kick off in September this year. Legendary Indian cricket batsman Sachin Tendulkar has won the Kochi franchise while Prince of Kolkata Sourav Ganguly in consortium with Spanish soccer club Atletico Madrid has won the Kolkata franchise of the Indian Super League (ISL). Bollywood actor John Abraham in consortium with I-League club Shillong Lajong has won the Guwahati franchise while Ranbir Kapoor and Bimal Parekh have won the Mumbai franchise.
Bollywood star Salman Khan together with Kapil Wadhawan and Dheeraj Wadhawan of the Wadhawan Group has won the Pune franchise. Sun Group has acquired Bengaluru franchise while Den Network has grabbed the Delhi franchise. Dattaraj Salgaocar and Shrinivas V. Dempo have won the Goa franchise.

The bidding process for ISL franchise began on 3rd March and concluded on 27th March. On 13th April the authority announced the winners of the bidding. Bids were invited for nine cities out of which eight have been selected as the franchise for Indian Super League. The franchise cities which are final now are Delhi, Mumbai, Goa, Pune, Kochi, Bengaluru, Kolkata and Guwahati. Chennai is the city which has been kept out this time from being declaring as an ISL franchise club. The bidding documents were purchased at a price of Rs. 5 lakh by about 30 different parties from the Mumbai office. The base price of each soccer team was set to be Rs.12 crore per year for a deal of 10 years.

Final winners along with their franchise cities are mentioned below:
  1. Bengaluru - Sun Group
  2. Delhi - Den Network
  3. Goa - Dattaraj Salgaocar and Shrinivas V. Dempo
  4. Guwahati - John Abraham & Shillong Lajong
  5. Kochi - Sachin Tendulkar & PVP Ventures
  6. Kolkata - Sourav Ganguly, Harshavardhan Neotia, Atletico Madrid, Sanjeev Goenka, Utsav Parekh
  7. Mumbai - Ranbir Kapoor and Bimal Parekh
  8. Pune - Salman Khan and Wadhawan Group 
Since this bidding was done through the closed bidding process, the actual winning bid of each franchise is still not known. Ernst & Young was the firm hired to evaluate and analyse the bidding process. All the formalities were completed by yesterday night and only announcement of the winners was to be done today. Organisers laid down strict policies for the bidders in order to get a franchise team. The rule was that the bidding party should have plans to develop world class standard football coaching program in their region so that the best football talent can be find out for the country.